11111Lance Jennings — CASA GRANDE, AZ – JUNE 23, 2013… After having a rough start to his season, the stars aligned for Peoria’s Josh Pelkey at Central Arizona Raceway in Casa Grande. The former Arizona Champion swept last Saturday’s program by winning his heat race, winning the dash, and leading all 30-laps to claim his first $1,500 USAC SouthWest Sprint Car victory. Point leader R.J. Johnson, Shon Deskins, Bruce St. James, and “The Magic Man” Mike Martin rounded out the top five drivers.

Driving Robbie and Gaye Allen’s #12 ABC Body Shop / Napa Auto Parts DRC, Josh Pelkey had a night to remember at Casa Grande. Pelkey not only won the feature, he also won the night’s second 8-lap Racers Advantage Store Heat Race and his first Sunoco Fuels Passing Masters Dash. By earning the most points possible, Pelkey left Casa Grande sixth in the point chase with two heat race victories, one semi-main win, nine top-10 finishes, and 35 feature laps led on the year.   R.J. Johnson of Phoenix raced to second after starting fourth at Central Arizona Raceway. Piloting Bill Michaels’ #77M Kodiak Products / Beal’s Auto Body Sherman, Johnson placed third in his heat race and was fourth in the dash. R.J. left Casa Grande with a 77 point advantage over the competition with six feature wins, five heat race victories, two Sunoco Fuels Passing Masters Dash wins, one hard charger award, eleven top-10 finishes, and 127 feature laps led.

After starting fifth, Phoenix’s Shon Deskins had another strong night and claimed third at the checkered flags. Racing his #20 Performance Plus / Ellis Race Cars machine, Deskins won the program’s third 8-lap Racers Advantage Store Heat Race and placed fifth in the dash. To date, the veteran driver is fourth in championship points with five heat race victories, one hard charger award, and eight top-10 finishes in the campaign.

“The Radio Flyer” Bruce St. James of Phoenix scored fourth in the 30-lap feature after starting seventh. Driving his #7K Woodland Auto Display / Weld Racing Maxim, St. James ran third in his heat race and placed seventh in the dash. After having some tough nights, Bruce sits twelfth in points with four top-10 finishes and 17 feature laps led to his credit.

Yuma’s “The Magic Man” Mike Martin came home fifth at Central Arizona Raceway. Piloting his #16 Ultimate Offroad / Naquin Precision Earth Moving Maxim, Martin won the 8-lap Racers Advantage Store Heat Race #1 and was third in the dash. “The Magic Man” is currently third in the standings with one feature win, one fast time award, five heat race victories, eight top-10 finishes, and 24 feature laps led in 2013.

“Chargin” Charles Davis Jr. of Buckeye earned his second “Hard Charger / Best Passing Job” honors with a sixth place run from thirteenth. Racing the Massey Motorsports’ #50 RSS Industries / Rod End Supply RSS, Davis claimed fifth in his heat race and was not eligible for the dash. The five-time Arizona Sprint Car Champion is second in points with two feature wins, three heat race victories, two Sunoco Fuels Passing Masters Dash wins, one semi-main win, eleven top-10 finishes, and 61 feature laps led on the season.

This Saturday, June 29th, the USAC SouthWest Sprint Car Series will invade Canyon Speedway Park for the “3nd Annual Summer Sizzle.” The action packed showcase will also feature Mini Sprints, LoanMart Challenge Cup Sprints, Viper Smart Pure Stocks, and AMA Modlites. Advance tickets are on sale and for more information, visit or call 602.258.7223.

The USAC SouthWest Sprint Car Series would like to thank Sunoco Race Fuels, Hoosier Tire, Hose Advantage Store, and the Racers Advantage Store for their support. For more information on the series, visit,, or follow the series on Facebook ( ————————————————————–

USAC SOUTHWEST SPRINT RACE RESULTS: June 22, 2013 – Casa Grande, Arizona – Central Arizona Raceway

RACERS ADVANTAGE STORE HEAT RACE #1: (8 laps) 1. Mike Martin (#16 Martin), 2. Jody Wirth (#5X Wirth), 3. Bruce St. James (#7K St. James), 4. Justin Quinn (#93 Quinn), 5. Ronnie Clark (#6 Clark), 6. Brian Hosford (#32B Weber), 7. Andy Reinbold (#19 Underwood). NT

RACERS ADVANTAGE STORE HEAT RACE #2: (8 laps) 1. Josh Pelkey (#12 Allen), 2. Tom Ogle (#48 Ogle), 3. R.J. Johnson (#77M Michaels), 4. Mike Colegrove (#17M Colegrove), 5. Charles Davis Jr. (#50 Massey), 6. James Aragon (#94 Aragon). NT

RACERS ADVANTAGE STORE HEAT RACE #3: (8 laps) 1. Shon Deskins (#20 Deskins), 2. Mike Bonneau (#29 Bonneau), 3. Steven Harms (#60 Harms), 4. Tye Mihocko (#5 Mihocko), 5. Chris Bonneau (#78 Bonneau), 6. Jordan Stetson (#8AZ Stetson). NT

SUNOCO RACE FUELS PASSING MASTERS DASH: (6 laps) 1. Josh Pelkey, 2. Tom Ogle, 3. Mike Martin, 4. R.J. Johnson, 5. Shon Deskins, 6. Jody Wirth, 7. Bruce St. James, 8. Mike Bonneau. NT

FEATURE: (30 laps – With Starting Positions) 1. Josh Pelkey (1st), 2. R.J. Johnson (4th), 3. Shon Deskins (5th), 4. Bruce St. James (7th), 5. Mike Martin (3rd), 6. Charles Davis Jr. (13th), 7. Ronnie Clark (10th), 8. Tye Mihocko (11th), 9. Justin Quinn (12th), 10. Tom Ogle (2nd), 11. Mike Colegrove (15th), 12. Andy Reinbold (19th), 13. James Aragon (17th), 14. Brian Hosford (16th), 15. Jody Wirth (6th), 16. Steven Harms (9th), 17. Chris Bonneau (14th), 18. Jordan Stetson (18th), 19. Mike Bonneau (8th). NT


FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Laps 1-30 Josh Pelkey.

HARD CHARGER: Charles Davis Jr. (13th to 6th)

social position

Share this post