Lonnie Wheatley, PEORIA, Ariz. (February 2, 2013) – Bryan Clauson finished off Canyon Speedway Park’s Winter Challenge exactly the way he started it by standing in USAC Southwest vs. USAC West Coast non-wing Sprint Car victory lane on Saturday night.

Clauson’s third triumph in four rounds of action aboard Mike Martin’s Ultimate Offroad No. 16b, this one worth $5,000, earned him the Winter Challenge championship while Jesse Sobbing took the Winter Challenge in the IMCA Modified ranks.

With Clauson topping the Sprint Car finale, William Gould became the fourth different winner in as many IMCA Modified features, Bo Partain picked off his third Pure Stock win over the course of two days and Josh Shipley bested the Micro Sprints.

Starting from the pole position, Noblesville, Indiana’s Clauson led all 30 laps to take the lucrative Sprint Car winner’s share in front of multi-time Arizona champion Jeremy Sherman, with reigning Arizona champion Charles Davis, Jr., in the show position.  Colby Copeland charged from 17th to fourth, with Jon Stanbrough rounding out the top five.

William Gould took advantage of his front row outside starting position to take the Modified checkered flag ahead of 2012 IMCA Northern Sport Modified National champion Jesse Sobbing, who climbed from seventh to take runner-up honors and the Winter Challenge crown.  George Fronsman was third, with Shane Thome and Anthony Madrid rounding out the top five.

Bo Partain made it three-for-three in Pure Stock action by crossing the stripe ahead of Reed Veralrud and Chris McCurdy, Jr., with Josh Shipley advancing from sixth to win the Micro Sprint feature in front of Kyle Shipley and Dennis Carrier.

With the Winter Challenge in the books, next up at Canyon Speedway Park is the USAC Copper on Dirt on March 1-2 featuring the USAC/CRA Sprint Cars and USAC Western States Midgets along with the West Coast Late Models vs. SWDRA Late Models and IMCA Modifieds.

Canyon Speedway Park

Winter Challenge Saturday Night, February 2,

Results: USAC Southwest vs. USAC West Coast Non-Wing Sprint Cars:

First Heat (8 Laps): 1. 51-R.J. Johnson, 2. 20-Jon Stanbrough, 3. 50-Charles Davis, Jr., 4. 32b-Brian Hosford, 5. 3x-Jimmy Crawford, 6. 10-Richard Vander Weerd, 7. 20L-Matt Lundy, 8. 74-Colby Copeland, 9. 53-Tom Lee.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. 77m-Jeremy Sherman, 2. 16b-Bryan Clauson, 3. 77-Robert Ballou, 4. 20z-Rick Ziehl, 5. 88-Jace Vander Weerd, 6. 97-Mike Martin, 7. 11T-Lonnie Oliver, 8. 21-Kevin Thomas, Jr., 9. 7k-Bruce St. James.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. 74x-Joshua Hodges, 2. 19-Andrew Reinbold, 3. 73-Ryan Bernal, 4. 6-Ronnie Clark, 5. 48-Thomas Ogle, 6. 12-Josh Pelkey, 7. 55-Tony Everhart, 8. 1az-Stevie Sussex, 9. 45-Jason Grady.   “B” Feature (10 Laps): 1. 74-Colby Copeland, 2. 12-Josh Pelkey, 3. 48-Thomas Ogle, 4. 1az-Stevie Sussex, 5. 21-Kevin Thomas, Jr., 6. 7k-Bruce St. James, 7. 11T-Lonnie Oliver, 8. 53-Tom Lee, 9. 20L-Matt Lundy, 10. 55-Tony Everhart.

“A” Feature (30 Laps): 1. 16b-Bryan Clauson, 2. 77m-Jeremy Sherman, 3. 50-Charles Davis, Jr., 4. 74-Colby Copeland, 5. 20-Jon Stanbrough, 6. 10-Richard Vander Weerd, 7. 12-Josh Pelkey, 8. 21-Kevin Thomas, Jr., 9. 19-Andrew Reinbold, 10. 73-Ryan Bernal, 11. 97-Mike Martin, 12. 88-Jace Vander Weerd, 13. 1az-Stevie Sussex, 14. 3x-Jimmy Crawford, 15. 7k-Bruce St. James, 16. 32b-Brian Hosford, 17. 77-Robert Ballou, 18. 48-Thomas Ogle, 19. 51-R.J. Johnson, 20. 6-Ronnie Clark, 21. 74x-Joshua Hodges, 22. 20z-Rick Ziehl.

social position

Share this post