1aLance Jennings… PEORIA, AZ – JUNE 30, 2013… After temperatures soared over 100 degrees at Canyon Speedway Park, Buckeye’s “Chargin” Charles Davis Jr. ended R.J. Johnson’s win streak with a last corner pass. The $1,500 “Summer Sizzle” victory was Davis’ third USAC SouthWest Sprint Car feature win of the season. Johnson, Josh Pelkey, “The Magic Man” Mike Martin, and “The Radio Flyer” Bruce St. James rounded out the top five drivers.

Piloting the Massey Motorsports’ #50 RSS Industries / Rod End Supply entry, “Chargin” Charles Davis Jr. also won the night’s second Racers Advantage Store Heat Race and was second in the dash. The 5-time state champion left CSP second in points with four heat race victories, two dash wins, one semi-main win, two hard charger awards, twelve top-10 finishes, and 62 feature laps led to his credit. With the “Summer Sizzle” triumph, Davis made USAC history by recording his ninth Arizona win, breaking a tie with A.J. Foyt, Bryan Clauson, Damion Gardner, and Dave Steele for the most “Copper State” victories.

R.J. Johnson of Phoenix was looking for his fifth straight Canyon victory but had to settle for second at the “Summer Sizzle.” Racing Bill Michaels’ #77M Kodiak Products / Beal’s Auto Body Sherman, Johnson won the program’s third Racers Advantage Store Heat Race and the Sunoco Fuels Passing Masters Dash. Dominating the main event until the last corner, the point leader has six feature wins, six heat race victories, three Sunoco Fuels Passing Masters Dash wins, one hard charger award, twelve top-10 finishes, and 156 feature laps led. As this writing goes to press, R.J. holds a 74 point advantage over the competition.

Peoria’s Josh Pelkey had another strong performance with a third place run. Driving Robbie and Gaye Allen’s #12 ABC Body Shop / Napa Auto Parts DRC, Pelkey scored third in his heat race and fifth in the dash. After the “Summer Sizzle,” the former Arizona Champion has climbed to fifth in the point chase with one feature win, two heat race victories, one semi-main win, ten top-10 finishes, and 35 feature laps led on the year.

“The Magic Man” Mike Martin of Yuma claimed fourth in the Canyon Speedway Park feature. Racing his #16 Ultimate Offroad / Naquin Precision Earth Moving Maxim, Martin claimed second in his heat race and placed third in the dash. Sitting third in the standings, “The Magic Man” has one feature win, one fast time award, five heat race victories, nine top-10 finishes, and 24 feature laps led in the campaign.

Phoenix’s “The Radio Flyer” Bruce St. James earned the program’s “Hard Charger / Best Passing Job” honors with a fifth place run from fourteenth. Piloting his #7K Woodland Auto Display / Weld Racing Maxim, St. James claimed fifth in his heat race and was not eligible for the dash. Currently tenth in the point chase, “The Radio Flyer” has one dash win, five top-10 finishes, and 17 feature laps led to his credit.

“The Bull” Tye Mihocko of Peoria won his first Racers Advantage Store Heat Race at the “Summer Sizzle.” Driving the family owned #5 RSS Industries / Old World Brewery machine, Mihocko scored fourth in the dash and was seventeenth in the main event after an early exit. To date, the rookie contender is twenty third in the standings with one top-10 finish on the season.

On Saturday, July 13th, the USAC SouthWest Sprint Car Series will travel to Queen Creek’s Arizona Speedway. Supers, Mod Lites, and Bombers will also share the spotlight and for more event information, visit or call 480.926.6688.

The USAC SouthWest Sprint Car Series would like to thank Sunoco Race Fuels, Hoosier Tire, Hose Advantage Store, and the Racers Advantage Store for their support. For more information on the series, visit,, or follow the series on Facebook ( ————————————————————–

USAC SOUTHWEST SPRINT RACE RESULTS: June 29, 2013 – Peoria, Arizona – Canyon Speedway Park – “Summer Sizzle”

RACERS ADVANTAGE STORE HEAT RACE #1: (8 laps) 1. Tye Mihocko (#5 Mihocko), 2. Nathan High (#1A High), 3. Chris Bonneau (#78 Bonneau), 4. Jody Wirth (#5X Wirth), 5. Tom Lee (#53 Lee), 6. Mike Colegrove (#17M Colegrove), 7. James Aragon (#94 Aragon), 8. Mark Morin (#28 Morin). NT

RACERS ADVANTAGE STORE HEAT RACE #2: (8 laps) 1. Charles Davis Jr. (#50 Massey), 2. Mike Martin (#16 Martin), 3. Colby Copeland (#74 Williams), 4. Shon Deskins (#20 Deskins), 5. Steven Harms (#60 Harms), 6. Michael Curtis (#11C Turner/Wheeler), 7. Jonas Reynolds (#4 Reynolds). NT

RACERS ADVANTAGE STORE HEAT RACE #3: (8 laps) 1. R.J. Johnson (#77M Michaels), 2. Andy Reinbold (#19 Underwood), 3. Josh Pelkey (#12 Allen), 4. Ronnie Clark (#6 Clark), 5. Bruce St. James (#7K St. James), 6. Bryan Swinehart (#68 Beal), 7. Brian Hosford (#32B Weber). NT

SUNOCO RACE FUELS PASSING MASTERS DASH: (6 laps) 1. R.J. Johnson, 2. Charles Davis Jr., 3. Mike Martin, 4. Tye Mihocko, 5. Josh Pelkey, 6. Andy Reinbold, 7. Chris Bonneau, 8. Colby Copeland. NT

FEATURE: (30 laps – With Starting Positions) 1. Charles Davis Jr. (2nd), 2. R.J. Johnson (1st), 3. Josh Pelkey (5th), 4. Mike Martin (3rd), 5. Bruce St. James (14th), 6. Colby Copeland (8th), 7. Chris Bonneau (7th), 8. Brian Hosford (17th), 9. Bryan Swinehart (15th), 10. Jody Wirth (10th), 11. Shon Deskins (11th), 12. Andy Reinbold (6th), 13. Ronnie Clark (12th), 14. Steven Harms (16th), 15. Michael Curtis (18th), 16. Tom Lee (13th), 17. Tye Mihocko (4th), 18. Nathan High (9th), 19. James Aragon (20th), 20. Mark Morin (19th). NT —————————-

FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Laps 1-29 R.J. Johnson, Lap 30 Charles Davis Jr.

HARD CHARGER: Bruce St. James (14th to 5th)

USAC SOUTHWEST SPRINT POINT STANDINGS: 1-R.J. Johnson-618; 2-Charles Davis Jr.-544; 3-Mike Martin-511; 4-Shon Deskins-478; 5-Josh Pelkey-462; 6-Ronnie Clark-436; 7-Chris Bonneau-417; 8-Andy Reinbold-357; 9-Brian Hosford-346; 10-Bruce St. James-333; 11-Stevie Sussex-331; 12-Justin Quinn-320; 13-Bryan Swinehart-309; 14-Tom Ogle-267; 15-Mike Bonneau-245; 16-James Aragon-208; 17-Steven Harms-205; 18-Jody Wirth-195; —Bob Ream Jr.-195; 20-Nathan High-180.

social position

Share this post